• 2017cover Present
  • 1
Thursday, February 01, 2024 at 12:14

The University of Seniors visits the UPSA

The University of Seniors visits the UPSA The University of Seniors visits the UPSA

The Senior University of the Rey Juan Carlos University held, on January 26, a meeting with the 'Association of the Interuniversity Program of the Experience of Castilla y León' at the Pontifical University of Salamanca.

Ramon Machuca

The visit began with a welcome ceremony chaired by the vice-rector for Lifelong Training and Doctoral Studies of the UPSA, Pedro Sangro, who thanked the students of the URJC University for Seniors for their visit. José Manuel Azcona, director of the Senior Program at the Rey Juan Carlos University, also participated in this first event, explaining the different characteristics of the initiative that he directs.

The institutional welcome ended with the interventions of María Teresa Ramos, director of the Program of the Pontifical University of Salamanca and the president of the Association 'AUMAVIC', Felipe Pinilla.

Subsequently, URJC students were able to enjoy a guided tour of the University facilities and the old town of Salamanca. To finish this tour, the students were received by the Councilor for Seniors, María Isabel Macías, in the Town Hall of the Castilian-Leonese city.

After this "interesting and positive" day that "represents an institutional success between both universities," according to Azcona, the students of the UPSA 'Experience Program' will visit the Rey Juan Carlos University in May, thus promoting "the possibilities exchange” adds the director of the University for the Elderly.

La University of Seniors of the URJC is a Study Program aimed at those over fifty years of age, it is taught on the Campuses of Aranjuez, Móstoles, Madrid-Vicálvaro and Fuenlabrada. The general program of this institution consists of two cycles. The first cycle is structured into three academic years (1st, 2nd and 3rd). In each course a total of four subjects are taught, two per semester. Those who have completed it can enroll in the second cycle, which consists of two other academic years (4th and 5th).